History

Art St. Peter’s Basilica Guide: Art and Faith in the Vatican City

St. Peter’s Basilica Guide: Art and Faith in the Vatican City

When you come to Rome, there are certain places that you simply can’t afford to miss. The magnific ...

Thu 05 Dec 2019

read more

Underground Naples: a Journey into Sanità, the ‘Valley of the Dead’

To get to the heart of Naples, you have to dig down deep. If you want to understand the city’s ...

Fri 22 Nov 2019

read more

7 Places to Get Spooked in Rome this Halloween

It’s that time of year again. The evenings are drawing in, a chill is beginning to spike the eveni ...

Mon 28 Oct 2019

read more
Art A Guide to the Spanish Steps in Rome: Everything You Need to Know About Rome’s Most Iconic Staircase

A Guide to the Spanish Steps in Rome: Everything You Need to Know About Rome’s Most Iconic Staircase

There can be few sights in the world more romantic than the dazzling sweep of the Spanish Steps...

Wed 23 Oct 2019

read more
Art Mussolini, a World’s Fair and a Failed Futurist Fantasy: A Guide to the Modernist Architecture of Rome’s EUR Quarter

Mussolini, a World’s Fair and a Failed Futurist Fantasy: A Guide to the Modernist Architecture of Rome’s EUR Quarter

The great flowering of architectural modernism in the Eternal City coincided with the inexorable ...

Fri 27 Sep 2019

read more

Lions and Tigers and Bears, Oh My! Wild Animals in the Colosseum

This week we’re taking a closer look at the other major protagonists of the Roman games at the ...

Fri 20 Sep 2019

read more

Gladiators in the Roman Colosseum: An Introduction

An introductory primer to the gladiator games

Fri 06 Sep 2019

read more

The Complete Online Guide to the Palatine Hill

The Palatine Hill is a vital piece of the jigsaw puzzle that is Ancient Rome, whose spectacular ...

Fri 16 Dec 2016

read more

7 Myths about the Gladiator Games

Let's get clear about Gladiators

Tue 11 Jun 2019

read more

Easter Traditions in Italy

Written by Jasmine Mah

Fri 05 Apr 2019

read more

Was the Colosseum Covered? The Story of the Velarium

The Colosseum's incredible retractable Roof

Fri 29 Mar 2019

read more